Climate and Resilience Education Task Force Members

The Task Force is composed of representatives from NGOs, City, State and Federal agencies, teachers, climate scientists, students, and growing.

Current Members:

  • Karen Alsen - Solar One, Director of Education

  • Isabel Avina - NYC Climate and Resilience Education Task Force

  • Greg Borman - NYC Department of Education, Office of Curriculum, Instruction & Professional Learning, Director of Science

  • Brett Branco, PhD - Science and Resilience Institute at Jamaica BayBrooklyn College at Brooklyn College, Director

  • Emily Fano - National Wildlife Federation, Senior Education Manager

  • Rachel Finkelstein - NYC Mayor’s Office of Climate Policy and Programs, Senior Policy Advisor

  • Dana Kochnower - NYC Mayor's Office of Resiliency, Assistant Director, Land Use and Buildings

  • Jen Kretser - The Wild Center, Director of Climate Initiatives & Climate Literacy Energy Awareness Network (CLEAN) Board Member

  • Dana Lawit - DOE & Climate and Resilience Education Task Force

  • Meredith McDermott - NYC Department of Education, Division of School Facilities, Director of Sustainability

  • Beth Mowry - Brooklyn Collaborative School, Science Teacher

  • Megan Nordgren - NY Sunworks, Director of Program Development

  • Frank Niepold - NOAA, Senior Climate Education Program Manager, Director of Climate Education

  • Sarah Pidgeon - Solar One, Co-Director of Programs

  • Shakira Provasoli - Manhattan School for Children, teacher

  • Jatnna Ramirez - Global Kids, Director of High School Programs

  • Joy Rifkin - NYC Department of Education, Office of Sustainability

  • Tom Roderick - Morningside Center for Teaching Social Responsibility, Executive Director (Retired)

  • Robin Sanchez - Department of Environmental Protection, Director of Education

  • Heather Sioux - National Wildlife Federation, Project Manager, Resilient Schools Consortium (RiSC)

  • Carey Stanton - National Wildlife Federation, Sr. Director for Education and Partnerships

  • Bram Ziltzer - The Climate Museum, Operations Coordinator